Venice Photography Final

July 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

Through a program at my school, I was fortunate enough to spend an entire month in Venice, Italy at the beginning of the summer.  There I studied photography and Venetian art history, running about the city and surrounding islands, capturing people and places and learning about grand master painters and architects like Titian, Tintoretto, Jacopo Sansovino, and Andrea Palladio.  Needless to say, the trip was amazing.

I took thousands of pictures during my stay there, but had to whittle them down for a final photo project of my choosing. I chose to focus on the graffiti that pops up all over Venice.  Graffiti, and the extent of it throughout the city, was a big shock for me to see at first, having only the picturesque images of the beautiful, pristine Venice in my mind when I arrived.  Maybe my fixation on the public displays of art had something to do with Exit Through the Gift Shop, which I had seen just a few weeks before my trip [side-note: it was delightful. See it!]. Regardless of the cause, I couldn’t stop myself from searching through the winding alleys for graphic masterpieces like a mouse on the hunt for some good Parmigiano.

What resulted was a collection of images highlighting the different natures of the graffiti (i.e. political, decorative, etc.) and how it interacted with the space in which it was placed.  I intentionally omitted people from my images, yet included indications of a human presence. My final project, as well as everyone else’s from my class, is now up for display here, and a showing of some of the highlights from the class will take place on campus in the fall.  You can also see my final on my Flickr page.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Venice Photography Final at .

meta

