New York Minute

August 3, 2010 § Leave a comment

“One belongs to New York instantly, one belongs to it as much in five minutes as in
five years”

-Thomas Wolfe

This weekend I took a day trip down to NYC from Boston to soak in the city.  I had been there briefly twice before, not enough to get a real idea of the city.  But this weekend was different. With no real itinerary (except for time allotted for shopping) I was free to wander about as I pleased.  After traveling down to New York in style on the Fung Wah bus, I was dropped off in Chinatown, at the corner of Hester and Bowery, just across Manhattan Bridge. The first thing I saw as I exited the bus? My name. I could tell it was going to be a good day.

I headed down to Canal Street, making my way past the scores of street vendors and stores selling God knows what to Broadway where my hours-long shopping adventure began. My favorite stores: Uniqlo and Dean & Deluca’s.  Both were places I had never been but had been on my list of places to visit for some time. I grabbed an avocado roll from Dean & Deluca’s and made my way over to Washington Square Park to take in the scenery, street artists, and musicians.

Soaking up the life of the people in the park was great, and I experienced more as I left the park and stumbled upon several streets of vendors selling a wide range of foods (Thai, Vietnamese) and handmade jewelry and crafts. As I made my way back onto Broadway I passed Le Pain Quotidien, and had to stop inside.  I took a little break and settled down with some green tea and an apricot crumble. Très délicieux!

From there I headed North and hit Union Square, a big, open area where Broadway and 4th merge. I immediately spotted a group of strange street performers with a boombox.  Only, it was a little less street-performance, and a little more exercise.  I Googled this ridiculousness when I got home and found out they were “Kangoo Jumping,” wearing Kangoo jump boots. What is this “Kangoo Jumping” you might ask? Well, as the boot-selling website proclaims:

Kangoo Jumps are safe, low impact rebound sport shoes, providing many great health benefits, for everyone, any age.
They are so much fun you’ll forget you’re exercising to get into better shape.
Never has a sport been so enjoyable, safe and easy to learn.

And indeed, the people looked like they were having a good time. Check out the promotional video on the Kangoo Jump website, it’s like a bad movie you can’t turn off.

At this point in the day, my phone decided to call it a day and my battery died. So no more photographic documentation of my day.  But the adventure didn’t end there.  I didn’t have a bus ticket home yet, and with no physical map, I decided to walk to Grand Central to figure things out.  When I arrived, camera crews were filming “Friends With Benefits” while hundreds of extras munched on dinner a room over, but I didn’t have time to be a tourist as I had to figure out my way home. So I grabbed a map, and headed out to Port Authority. On the way I passed Bryant Park, the NYPL, and Times Square. As a girl who almost always “walks with a purpose”, the slow-moving masses of tourists around Times Square drove me nuts. But at that moment, I knew I would fit in to the city if I ever decided to live there.  And I really would consider it.  I was sucked into the magic, the diversity, the noises and the smells, the odd conversations I had with random people throughout the day, everything.  New York is a city like no other, and even though my day passed by so quickly, I can’t wait to return and explore more.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New York Minute at .

meta

