Vegan Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins

October 30, 2010 § Leave a comment

I promised this wouldn’t become a food blog a while back now, but can I help that I love cooking and baking (and eating)? I’ve been busy with Assistant Stage Managing for my school’s fall musical, Dames at Sea, for a few weeks now, but the Stage Manager and I got together today on our day off to craft some holiday treats for the cast for Halloween. They’re not very Halloween-y per-say, but more inspired by the season.

First we started out with a Spiced Applesauce Cake, the recipe which I found on Smitten Kitchen’s blog.  I won’t even post pictures of this treat,  for although it looks nice, I can’t compete photographically with Smitten Kitchen. Our second sweet treat was Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins, with a pumpkin-chocolate icing of my own creation. I grabbed this recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod’s site and modified it a bit for my own purposes. Both the pumpkin muffins and the spiced applesauce cake were non-vegan recipes, so I substituted flax seed meal for eggs and vegan chocolate chips and butter for the regular milk-infused versions. Tofutti vegan cream cheese worked perfectly as a substitute on the frosting for the applesauce cake.  I love the challenge of making baked goods vegan and am often surprised how relatively easy it is to do.  Not to mention the surprised reactions I get from people when I tell them their sweets are vegan.

I made the cupcake liners out of parchment paper instead of purchasing them. I thought they added a little more drama to the cupcakes as well.

Spiced Applesauce Cake recipe via [http://smittenkitchen.com]
Modified Pumpkin Muffins recipe via [http://twopeasandtheirpod.com]

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vegan Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins at .

meta

